## DISTINGUISHED SCHOOLS/ADDITIONAL YEARLY GROWTH AWARDS OCTOBER 15, 2009

#### **SUBJECT**

Distinguished Schools/Additional Yearly Growth Awards

### APPLICABLE STATUTE, RULE, OR POLICY

Idaho State Board of Education Governing Policies & Procedures, Section IV.B.

#### **BACKGROUND/DISCUSSION**

The Federal No Child Left Behind Act (NCLB) provides that the state education agency (SEA) shall present and honor those schools who make significant achievements, based on criteria set forth by the State board of Education.

Scores from The Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) are used to compute Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) and in turn, Distinguished Schools and Additional Yearly Progress Awards. The Idaho State Board of Education (SBOE) is the SEA for Idaho and began implementing the recognition of these schools in 2007. Each school that earns the Distinguished School or Additional Yearly Progress Award is invited to be honored by SBOE at its October meeting.

This year, four (4) schools have satisfied the requirements for Distinguished Schools and fifty-three (53) have earned the Additional Yearly Growth award. This compares to three (3) schools in the Distinguished Schools category and fifteen (15) in the Additional Yearly Growth category for 2008.

#### **ATTACHMENTS**

Attachment 1 – Breakout of 2009 Idaho Additional Yearly
Growth and Idaho Distinguished Schools Recipients Page 3

#### STAFF COMMENTS AND RECOMMENDATIONS

Staff recommends that the Board commend each of the Idaho schools who have earned the Distinguished School Award and the Additional Yearly Progress Award. Staff is also coordinating recognitions commemorating this accomplishment for each of the designated schools and will present those to the schools on behalf of the Board for those schools which cannot personally attend the October 15, 2009 Board meeting.

#### **BOARD ACTION**

A motion to recognize and award the 2009 Distinguished School 2009 A	Additional
Yearly Growth recipients as detailed in the agenda materials.	

Moved by	Seconded by	Carried Yes	No

# DISTINGUISHED SCHOOLS/ADDITIONAL YEARLY GROWTH AWARDS OCTOBER 15, 2009

THIS PAGE INTENTIONALLY LEFT BLANK

# DISTINGUISHED SCHOOLS/ADDITIONAL YEARLY GROWTH AWARDS OCTOBER 15, 2009

### 2009 Distinguished Schools (4 total categories)

- 1. Blackfoot District #55, Ridgecrest Elementary School, Colin Folsom, Principal
- 2. Blackfoot District #55, Groveland Elementary school, J Troy Thayne, Principal (2 categories)
- 3. Caldwell District #132, Sacajawea Elementary, Gregory Alexander, Principal

### 2009 Additional Yearly Growth Schools (53 total categories)

- Caldwell District #132, Van Buren Elementary School, LaVaun Dennett, Principal (7 categories)
- 2. Caldwell District #132, Sacajawea Elementary Gregory Alexander Principal (2 categories)
- 3. Caldwell District #132, Wilson Elementary School , Taylor Raney, Principal (2 categories)
- 4. Blackfoot District #55, Ridgecrest Elementary School, Colin Folsom, Principal (4 categories)
- 5. Blackfoot District #55, Groveland Elementary School, J Troy Thayne, Principal (2 categories)
- 6. Plummer-Worley Jt District #44, Lakeside Middle School, Bill Burns, Principal (3 categories)
- 7. Lewiston Independent School District #340, McSorley Elementary School, Kevin Graffis, Principal
- 8. Snake River School District #52, Snake River Middle School, Ed Jackson, Principal
- Horseshoe Bend School District #73, Horseshoe Bend Middle-Sr High School, John Cook, Principal
- Nampa School District #131, Nampa Sr. High School, Pete Koehler, Principal (2 categories)
- 11. Nampa School District #131, Roosevelt Elementary, Korey Mereness, Principal (2 categories)
- 12. Plymouth School District #372, New Plymouth Middle School, Darrell Brown, Principal
- 13. Notus School District #135, Notus Elementary School, Tyson Carter, Assistant Principal
- 14. Fremont County Joint School District #215, North Fremont Jr-Sr High School, David Risenmay, Principal
- 15. Fremont County Joint School District #215, South Fremont High School, Larry Bennett, Principal
- 16. Ririe Joint School District #252, Ririe High School, Charlie Barber, Principal.
- 17. Mackay Joint School District #182, Mackay Jr-Sr High School, Jess Johnson, Principal
- 18. Sugar-Salem Joint School District #322, Sugar-Salem Junior High School, Kevin Schultz Principal
- 19. Marsh Valley Joint School District #21, Inkom Elementary School, Greg Hunsaker, Principal
- 20. Marsh Valley Joint District #21, Mountain View Elementary School, Dave Wheat, Principal (4 categories)
- 21. Oneida County District #351, Malad Senior High School, John Cockett, Principal
- 22. Post Falls School District #273, Seltice Elementary School, Michael Uphus, Principal (2 categories)

## DISTINGUISHED SCHOOLS/ADDITIONAL YEARLY GROWTH AWARDS OCTOBER 15, 2009

- 23. Coeur d'Alene School District #271, Sorenson Elementary, Jim Gray, Principal
- 24. Lake Pend Oreille District #84, Northside Elementary School, Rick Kline, Principal (2 categories)
- 25. Lake Pend Oreille District #84, Southside Elementary School, Pat Valliant, Principal
- 26. Lake Pend Oreille District #84, Sandpoint High School, Dr. Becky Kiebert, Principal
- 27. Council School District #13, Council Elementary School, Bonnie Thompson, Principal
- 28. Council School District #13, Council Jr-Sr High School, Murray Dalgleish, Principal/Superintendent
- 29. Cassia County Joint School District #151, Raft River Jr-Sr High School, Patrick Manning, Principal
- 30. Cassia County Joint School District #151, Oakley Elementary, Rena Bovee, Principal
- 31. Cassia County Joint School District #151, Oakley Jr-Sr High School, Brandi Bedke, Principal
- 32. Dietrich School District #314, Dietrich School, Neal Hollingshead, Principal/Superintendent