

For Immediate Release

December 12, 2023

Contact: Mike Keckler 208-332-1591 (office) 208-866-5734 (cell) Mike.Keckler@osbe.idaho.gov

BOARD TO INTERVIEW ISU PRESIDENT FINALISTS

The Idaho State Board of Education will conduct interviews on Thursday, December 14, 2023 with the five finalists for president of Idaho State University.

The interviews will occur in executive session at the Board Office at 650 W. State Street in Boise and will begin at 8:15 a.m. Mountain Time.

A vote is not scheduled. Idaho law requires that the Board give 24 hours' notice before a meeting can be held, and a vote taken. A vote to appoint a new president must occur in open session.

The Board intends to name a new president of Idaho State University near the end of the year.

Listed in alphabetical order, the Idaho State University president finalists are:

- Matt Cecil Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs at Northern Kentucky University
- C. Shane Hunt Dean of the College of Business and the Michael C. Ruettgers Professor of Marketing at Idaho State University

- Cynthia Pemberton President of Lewis-Clark State College in Lewiston
- Robbyn Wacker President of St. Cloud State University in Minnesota
- Robert Wagner Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer at Utah State University

The special Board meeting agenda is posted on the State Board of Education website: https://boardofed.idaho.gov/event/special-board-meeting-boise-51/

Last week, the candidates visited ISU campuses in Pocatello, Idaho Falls and Meridian where open forums were conducted involving students, faculty and staff, and community members.

ISU President Kevin Satterlee announced last June that he is retiring this month after serving as president for five and a half years.

####