Bookmark and Share

(Idaho Falls). A full fourteen hours of discussion, motions and proposals comprised the regular June meeting of the Idaho State Board of Education at Eastern Idaho Technical College in Idaho Falls.

The Board approved one-year extensions for each of the presidents of Idaho State, Boise State, University of Idaho, Eastern Idaho Technical College and the executive director of the Idaho State Board of Education. No change in monetary compensation was made to any of the above employment agreements. “This vote should not be construed as any indication we think any of our presidents are not doing a good job,” said Board President Richard Westerberg. “We simply cannot justify any increases in compensation while so many others are taking cuts, furloughs and more.”

President Dene K. Thomas of Lewis-Clark State College was honored by the Board and her fellow presidents for her nine years of service as president of LCSC and nearly 28 years in education in Idaho. “You will never meet another one like this one,” said Milford Terrell during the presentation. “She’s one of a kind and we as a state and a board have been so lucky to have worked with her.”

A discussion on the need for on-campus housing solutions at Boise State University centered on the long term cost to the institution and ability to service the on-going maintenance costs. The Lincoln Avenue Project, as its known, will come back to the Board in August. Board members approved the next phase of the Kibbie Dome Enhancement Project at the University of Idaho.

Head Coaching contracts for University of Idaho Football Coach Rob Akey and Boise State University Men’s Basketball Head Coach Leon Rice were approved unanimously. “We’re very happy with the progress Coach Akey has shown not only on the field of competition, but primarily in academics,” said Board member Rod Lewis. “Let’s remember: it’s –student- athlete, not athlete slash student.”

The Board also approved a request for the change of boundary in the Menan Butte area of eastern Idaho. Residents living in the area are located in Madison County petitioned to have their boundary changed. The area in question is physically located in Madison County, with some of the students attending Madison School District 321 in Rexburg, while others attend in Jefferson Joint School District #251 in Rigby. The property owners pay taxes to Jefferson Joint School District #251 in Rigby. The petition to move the boundary would send their property taxes to Madison District #321. The Board’s approval now allows the proposed boundary change to move to the voters/patrons in the area for a vote.

The Board worked in detail on waivers for the serving of alcohol during home football games at Idaho State University, Boise State University and the University of Idaho. The Board also approved a waiver for the next three years (2010-2012) for the Humanitarian Bowl.

The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Idaho State Board of Education is set for August 11-12, 2010 in Pocatello at Idaho State University.

Chief Communications and Legislative Affairs Officer

Blake Youde Email

Administrative Assistant

Allison Duman Email



Download Acrobat Reader to view documents on this site

Like Idaho State Board of Education on Facebook Follow State Board of Education on Twitter