School District / Charter School Planning & Training

The Office of the State Board of Education supports school districts and charter schools in their efforts to engage in strategic planning and board and staff training for the purpose of improving district operations and classroom instruction. This includes providing oversight of district plans (Continuous Improvement Plans, Literacy Intervention Plans, and College and Career Advising and Mentoring Plans) and approving Qualified Trainers.

District Plans

School districts and charter schools must submit a Literacy Intervention Program Plan and a College and Career Advising and Mentoring Plan to the State Board of Education by October 1st of each year. Plans should be submitted via e-mail to plans@osbe.idaho.gov.

The Literacy Intervention Plan and College and Career Advising and Mentoring Plan may be submitted as stand-alone documents or as appendices to your Continuous Improvement Plan. If your school district/charter school is including the Literacy Intervention Plan and/or College and Career Advising and Mentoring Plan as part of your Continuous Improvement Plan, the complete plan must be submitted to the Office of the State Board of Education.

Guidelines and templates are provided below. If you have questions regarding the Literacy Intervention Plan, please contact Alison Henken. If you have questions regarding the College and Career Advising and Mentoring Plan, please contact Byron Yankey.

Guidelines for District Plans

Continuous Improvement Plan
Literacy Intervention Program Plan
College and Career Advising and Mentoring Plan

Qualified Trainers

Individuals and organizations wishing to train district administrators and school board members in strategic planning, finance, superintendent evaluations, public charter administrator evaluations, or ethics and governance must submit an application to determine all qualifications requirements are met.

Qualified Trainers Application

NamePhoneContactE-mailStrategic PlanningFinanceAdministrator EvaluationsEthicsGovernance
AdvancedEd(888) 413-3669Dale Kleinertdkleinert@advance-ed.orgXX
Canfield-Davis & Holyoke(208) 292-1286Kathy Canfield Daviscanfield@uidaho.edu, holyoke@uidaho.eduXXX
Eberharter-Maki Tappen PA(208) 336-8858Lori Eberhartereemaki@emtedlaw.comXXX
Heather Williams(208) 316-6205Heather Williamshpwilliams@boisestate.eduXXXXX
Idaho Charter School Network(208) 424-2604Suzanne Metzgarsmetzgar@idahocsn.orgXXXX
Idaho School Boards Association(208) 854-1476Krissy Lamontkrissy@idsba.orgXXXXX
KMP Planning(208) 734-6208Mike Pepperkmpplanning@cableone.netX
Lester S. Portner(509) 939-0846Dr. Lester S. Portnerdocport@comcast.netX
Policy Governance Associates(253) 301-7903Rick Maloney & Bob Hughesrick_maloney@hotmail.comX
School Bell Quality Community(602) 242-0707Debra Webbdrdebra.webb@sbqc.netX
The Educational Leadership Group(208) 631-4678Sally Andersonsallyand@gmail.comX
Wendy St. Michell(208) 371-1045Wendy St. Michellwendystmichell@hotmail.comXXXX

While every attempt is made to keep this list updated, there may be a delay in posting newly qualified trainers. For the most accurate list of qualified trainers, contact Tracie Bent.

Individuals and organizations wishing to train district administrators and school board members in strategic planning, finance, superintendent evaluations, public charter administrator evaluations, or ethics and governance must submit an application to determine all qualifications requirements are met.