General Education Committee

The state General Education Committee is responsible for reviewing the competencies and rubrics of the general education framework for each institution to ensure its alignment with the Association of American Colleges and Universities (AAC&U) Essential Learning Outcomes.

Faculty discipline groups have ongoing responsibilities for ensuring consistency and relevance of general education competencies related to their discipline. The rubrics and competencies are reviewed and updated every three years. The General Education Committee shall consist of a Board-appointed representative from each of the institutions (Institutional Representatives), as well as one Subject Representative from each of the following communities: the Division of Career Technical Education, the Idaho Registrars Council, the digital learning community, the dual credit community, the open education community; and the Executive Director of the Board, or designee, who shall serve as the chair of the committee. Institutional Representatives are generally the directors or deans of general education (or equivalent).

General Education Committee Members

  • Heidi Estrem, Chair
    Associate Academic Officer
    Office of the State Board of Education
  • Sherry Simkins
    Dean of Instruction for General Studies
    North Idaho College, Representative
  • Martin Gibbs
    Dean of Liberal Arts and Sciences
    Lewis-Clark State College, Representative
  • Jacob Haeberle
    Interim Dean of General Education
    College of Eastern Idaho, Representative
  • Ryan Faulkner
    College of Eastern Idaho, Dean of Online Learning
    Digital Learning, Representative
  • Vacant
    Idaho State University
    Idaho State University, Representative
  • Mandy Nelson
    Boise State University – Registrar
    Idaho Registrars Council Ex-officio Member
  • Vacant

    University of Idaho, Representative
  • Candyce Reynolds
    Director, Foundations/Gen. Ed.
    Boise State University, Representative
  • Debbie Ronneburg
    Interim Dean, College of Technology
    Idaho State University, Technical College Leadership Council Representative
  • Vacant

    College of Southern Idaho, Representative
  • Karina Smith
    Boise State University – Assistant Director of Concurrent Enrollment
    Dual Credit, Representative
  • Vacant

    Open Education, Representative
  • Greg Wilson
    General Education Coordinator
    College of Western Idaho, Representative
  • General Education Committee Staff

  • Patty Sanchez
    Academic Affairs Program Manager
    Office of the State Board of Education
  • Dana Kelly
    Student Affairs Program Manager
    Office of the State Board of Education
  • Ruby Jones
    Academic Affairs Administrative Assistant
    Office of the State Board of Education